Scrapbooking My Summer Away


Now that summer is here and I have pretty much so much free time now I thought I need to start something new and something to keep me busy during this time but also entertained. Until 2 weeks ago I was an Art student (not anymore as college is officially over) which meant that I had SOOO many art supplies, equipments and materials all sitting in my cupboards waiting to be used. I’ve been wanting to start a scrapbook for the summer of 2017 since ages but been waiting for exams to be over. Now, I already have another scrapbook but that one is more like a photo album of my memories with my friends and family which is obviously a bit more personal so won’t be shared here. Alongside my photo album scrapbook I also have couple small A5 sketchbooks which I like to use for ball point pen sketches and take them around with me! If you couldn’t already tell I am a VERY creative person and love all things ART and CRAFTY! So that being said, I wanted a little something where I can write/doodle/draw pretty much anything and everything in and fill it this summer from June till September with all my memories and keepsakes I make.. so i decided to start another scrapbook. In this post I’ll be sharing the type of things I’ll be including in my scrapbook and how I will go about doing it! 

ALL THE COLOURS


Within this scrapbook I will be incorporating a bunch of colour as well as plain pen/pencil sketches. I wanted to use various materials in this scrapbook and not just stick to pens! I’ll be using fine liner pens, coloured pencils and watercolour which is by far my fave type of paint as you can be so free with it and the amount of colour pay off you get depends on the amount of water you use! I think using the pens to add in any dates or quick notes will be very useful and likewise the watercolour for any painting!

FUN BITS 


As well as paintings and drawing in my opinion a scrapbook should be fun and creative so here are some different coloured pastel washi tapes (which I brought from Amazon), glitter if you want to add that extra something and some paisley designed stencil tapes! Those small washi tapes will be great to stick down any doodles or drawings that’d been done on scrap paper or any collectible postcards and items you want to add in the scrapbook. I thought these stencil tapes were so cute and would make the perfect borders around the page or little patterns and designs! 

PERSONAL TOUCHES


In my opinion personal touches is what makes any scrapbook special and interesting! As you can see from that photo above here a bunch of my drawings and etchings I did whilst doing my Art project couple weeks ago on ‘weeds’. For me these aren’t like any other drawings I’ve done in the past and will do in this scrapbook, as those etchings took so long to make and was a final outcome of 3 months worth of work and ideas! These were a few extra that I had after I finished my project and obviously I didn’t want to throw them away so I thought it will be a very good idea to add them in my scrapbook! Along with these etchings and ink drawings I will also add any polaroids I take over that course of these couple months and also any memorable items and cards I collect from my holiday in Turkey! 

I’ve been longing to do a blogpost on scrapbooking for so long and so happy that it’s finally done, I hope you enjoyed this post and it gave you the boost to start a scrapbook too or any other ideas and inspirations! In fact once summer is over I might do another post on the scrapbook but a finished and completed version of it and show some of my favourite pages from it! 
Ayse Merve! 

56 thoughts on “Scrapbooking My Summer Away

  1. Very creative and artistic scrapbook so far! I can never do artsy things like this for some reason, so I commend people who can! Scrapbooks are a great way to establish and remember memories!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks like it’s going to be so beautiful! I have always wanted to create a really aesthetic scrapbook after a summer of travels but it is so time consuming and you need alll the free time, like you said!

    I hope it goes well!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have never scrapbooked in my life but i admire those who have the patience to do so; i think it’s a fantastic way of combining both a diary of events and the physical memory in whatever form. Sch an exciting prospect!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi!
    Great post! Scrap booking sounds fun but I’ve never actually been the creative type myself, and I never know exactly what I would scrapbook about. Thanks for sharing this post, and maybe I’ll be able to start scrap booking myself!

    Markesia | kesiaspoetry.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This sounds like a brilliant idea! I used to scrapbook all the time and I think your post has really motivated me to get back into it. Your photos are fab by the way!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You pictures in this post are stunning! Scrapbooking this summer is a great idea, I always say I’ll start one and then it never happens! I’m sure yours is going to look incredible seeing you’re so arty!
    PaleGirlRambling xo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve also wanted to start a scrapbook for ages! But haven’t had the time, now that I have more time and know I will have more this summer I ave started drawing again and it makes me soooo happy ^^ I still don’t know if I will combine my scrapbook (with photos and all) with the drawings or not.. 😀 x

    Kirsty
    http://www.corinneandkirsty.com

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I may of have possibly found a new favourite blog! I love your photos SO much. Wow, your pictures look so good. I love anything that’s arty and creative! I actually want to start scrap booking for this summer too! I can’t wait to make many memories. Love this post girl! Xx

    SAMI | possiblysami.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

